Field-tested knowledge · not gear hypeUSA · Archery & Bowhunting
ArcheryEra
Bows & Gear

Samick Sage vs Spyder (and XL): The 29-Inch Wall That Decides It

The two bows share a limb pocket, take each other's limbs and come in the same weights. So I skipped the usual pros-and-cons list and checked what can actually be checked: the makers' own listings, a measured Sage draw-force curve, and 63 first-hand and second-hand owner reports from 18 ArcheryTalk threads.

Burak, founder of ArcheryEraWritten by Burak · Mechanical Engineer & Lifelong Archer

Short answer: pick by draw length, not by brand. Under about 28″ the Samick Sage and the 62″ Southwest Archery Spyder are the same bow for practical purposes: same limb design, same pocket, a rounder grip on the Spyder, a hand knob on the Sage instead of the Spyder's Allen-head bolt. Somewhere around 29″ the 62″ Sage hits a wall. Retailers already stop listing it at 28 inches of draw, and the owner reports I logged pile up right at 29″. Past that, get the 64″ Spyder XL, which Southwest describes as a stretched Spyder with longer limbs for draws over 28 inches. Every XL owner I found reporting a 29.5–31″ draw called it smooth.

≈29″
where first-hand reports put the 62″ Sage's wall: 4 of 6 Sage owners at 28.5–29.5″ were happy, 0 of 3 at 30–32″ were
40 mm
limb-butt width an owner measured on Sage, Journey and Spyder limbs alike, with the bolt hole 15 mm in. Same pocket.
2.2 lb/in
measured weight gain from 26 to 28″ on a 40 lb Sage. No stack through 28″ on that bow.
A row of strung wood-riser takedown recurve bows standing in a rack against dry grass
Wood-riser takedowns of this class look alike for a reason: many share one limb-pocket design. The fit questions below matter more than the logo on the riser.
📊 1-Minute Decision Matrix
Which bow to choose by situation
Your situationPickWhy
Draw under 28″, first recurveSage or Spyder 62″Same limbs and pocket. Choose by grip feel and whether you want a hand knob or an Allen bolt.
Draw 28–29″Either works; XL is the safer pickReports split here. The XL removes the question.
Draw 29.5″ or moreSpyder XL (64″)No first-hand report of a happy 62″ Sage owner past 29.5″ in my sample; three XL owners at 29.5–31″ report little or no stack.
You take the bow apart oftenSageTapered hand knob, no tool. The Spyder's flush bolts take an Allen key.
You care most about grip edgesSpyderSouthwest says it rounded the riser and pocket edges; owners agree.
You want a documented limb listSpyder riserSouthwest publishes which limbs fit it. I found no current Samick statement for the Sage riser.
Already own a Sage, draw grewKeep the riser, add 64″ limbsOwners run Spyder XL limbs on Sage risers; you'll need a longer string.

This page began as a rewrite of my older comparison, which repeated a few claims I couldn't back up when I went looking: a stack point at 27″, a 3.4 lb vs. 2.3 lb weight gap, and a note that a hex-key takedown is rare at this level. I've corrected each one below, and the claim checker near the end lists what changed and why.

What's Actually Different Between the Sage, the Spyder and the Spyder XL?

Less than the marketing suggests. The table only lists what a listing actually states. Where nobody publishes a number, it says so instead of guessing.

Verified specifications of the Samick Sage, Spyder and Spyder XL
SpecSamick SageSWA SpyderSWA Spyder XL
Length (AMO)62″62″64″
Draw-length guidanceUp to 28″ (retailer listings)Under 29″Over 28″ on the XL page; “over 29″” on the 62″ page
Draw weights listed25–60 lb16–60 lb25–55 lb
Weight marked at28″ drawNot stated (industry norm is 28″)Not stated
RiserLaminated Dymondwood, oak, hard mapleWhite oak, Dymondwood, padaukSame riser as the Spyder
LimbsHard maple, black fiberglassHard maple, fiberglassHard maple, fiberglass, longer
Limb tipsPhenolic-reinforced, Fast Flight ratedReinforced, Fast Flight and Flemish ratedSame
Limb attachmentSingle tapered hand knob, metal pocketFlush limb bolts (Allen key)Same as Spyder
Brace height7½–8¼″Not publishedNot published (owners run 8¼–8¾″)
BushingsPlunger, stabilizer, sight/quiverRest/plunger, sight, quiver, stabilizer/bowfishing reelSame riser
Bow massNot published by anyone I checked. One owner weighed both at 2.4 lb (see below).
HandsRH, LHRH, LHRH, LH
WarrantyNot stated on the listings I used1 year, registered online1 year, registered online

Where these come from: the Spyder rows are from Southwest's 62-inch Spyder listing, its Spyder XL listing and its bare-riser listing, which is where the “flush limb bolts” and the white oak, Dymondwood and padauk come from. The Sage bushing row is from Lancaster's Galaxy Sage riser listing. Southwest's own pages disagree on two small points: the 62″ page lists a 29 lb limb in its text but 30 lb in the selector, and the XL threshold is 28″ on one page and 29″ on the other. The Sage rows come from retailer listings, because I couldn't find a current Samick product page: a Samick-branded Sage listing with the 7½–8¼″ brace and the tapered knob, and a UK listing that also caps draw at 28″. The 28″ marking reference is from Pete Ward's bench test of a 40 lb Sage, which states the limb weights are given at 28″.

When I checked on October 13, 2026, Southwest's pages for the Spyder, the Spyder XL, the bare riser and the 62″ limbs all showed “unavailable.” Stock comes and goes, so check before you plan around a part.

Is the Spyder just a “Sage 2”?

Functionally, yes. Southwest sells the bare riser as compatible with Samick Sage and Journey limbs. Owners have called it the Sage 2 since at least 2016. An owner in that 2016–2019 thread summed it up as functionally the same bow with a red stripe and more radius on the riser edges.

Two laminated wood takedown recurve risers side by side on a wooden table: the upper one with round hand knobs at the limb pockets, the lower one with flush limb bolts
Same silhouette, two tells. The Sage (top) has round hand knobs at the limb pockets; the Spyder (bottom) has flush Allen-head bolts and a thin red stripe in its laminations.

The story that the Sage's designers built the Spyder shows up in forum posts but never in anything Southwest or Samick published that I could find, so I'm not repeating it as fact. The same goes for the Sage's current name. Lancaster Archery now sells a Galaxy Sage with the same riser woods and the same “single tapered knob and metal limb pocket” wording, and owners say the Samick-made Sage was discontinued. Whether a Galaxy Sage and an older Samick Sage share every dimension isn't documented anywhere I could reach, so I treat them as separate entries in the fit matrix.

Which One Fits Your Draw Length?

This is the question that decides it, so it's where I spent most of my time. A recurve's marked weight is measured at 28″ of draw, and a bow that's long enough for you keeps adding roughly the same weight per inch. When the limbs run out of working length, each extra inch costs more. That's stacking, and a clear explanation of why it happens comes down to string angle: a shorter bow gets there sooner.

What does a measured Sage curve show?

The only published force-draw measurement of a Sage I found is Pete Ward's test of a 40 lb, 62″ Sage at an 8¼″ brace. It stops at 28″, which is a shame, but it tells us how the bow behaves before the trouble starts.

Measured draw force of a 40 lb Samick Sage from 24 to 28 inches
AMO drawMeasured weightGain over previous inch
24″32.37 lb+1.94 lb
25″34.39 lb+2.02 lb
26″36.51 lb+2.12 lb
27″38.67 lb+2.16 lb
28″40.92 lb+2.25 lb

The gains creep up by about a tenth of a pound per inch, which is normal for a working recurve. Nothing jumps. So the old claim that the Sage stacks at 27″ doesn't survive contact with the one bow anyone put on a scale. I ran the same numbers for stored energy: integrating the measured curve from brace to 28″ gives about 33.5 ft-lb. Ward's chronograph rows at 28″ (352 gr at 179 fps, 472 gr at 159 fps) work out to 25.0 and 26.5 ft-lb of arrow energy, so roughly 75–79% efficiency for that bow. You can check the arrow side in the arrow kinetic energy calculator.

Where do owners say the wall is?

Past 28″ I had to rely on owners, so I went through 18 ArcheryTalk threads from 2012 to 2025 and logged every post that described a Sage, Spyder or Spyder XL from experience. The ones that give a draw length are plotted below. Two owners went further than feel: one tested three Sages and says all three began stacking at 29″, and another's notes show about 6% more weight from 28 to 29″, then about 9% from 29 to 30″. In that same thread, an owner with a 31″ draw says his 35 lb Sage limbs read 46 lb at full draw.

Animated dot plot of first-hand owner reports by draw length. Samick Sage: at 28.5 to 29.5 inches four of six owners were happy; at 30.5, 31 and 32 inches none were. Spyder 62 inch: one mixed report at 31 inches. Spyder XL 64 inch: four reports from three owners at 29.5 to 31 inches, all happy
Every first-hand report in my log that gives both a draw length and a verdict on draw feel (14 reports from 13 owners), added in draw-length order. Shaded bands show each listing’s guidance. This is what the people who posted said, not how common the problem is.

Put the 46 lb reading next to Ward's curve and it makes sense. The measured Sage gained about 5.4% of its marked weight per inch from 26 to 28″. Carried straight out to 31″, 35 lb limbs would read about 40.7 lb. That owner saw 46, so roughly 5 lb of the pull at 31″ is stack. One reading, one bow, a draw length measured on a compound; I treat it as a lead, not a law. The 6% and 9% figures fit the same picture: a gentle bend at 29″ that gets steep by 30″.

Animated chart: a 62 inch Sage with 40 lb limbs drawn from 24 to 31 inches. Measured weight rises about 2.0 to 2.3 lb per inch up to 41 lb at 28 inches, then 2.5 lb from 28 to 29, 3.9 lb from 29 to 30 and about 6.5 lb from 30 to 31 inches, reaching roughly 54 lb, while a no-stack straight line would reach about 47.5 lb
Loop, built from the numbers above. Green is Pete Ward’s measured 40 lb Sage (24–28″). Orange adds one owner’s noted 6% and 9% steps. Gold applies another owner’s single 35→46 lb reading at 31″, scaled to 40 lb limbs. Three sources stitched together, so treat the last two segments as a lead, not a measurement.

Stack isn't the only cost of a short bow on a long draw. The string angle closes too, and a three-finger shooter feels it as pinch on the nock. One of the 31″ owners in that thread got exactly that advice: at that draw it's the string angle as well as the stack. Shooting three-under helps a little; two more inches of bow help more. My thumb ring vs three-finger comparison charts how string angle changes with bow length.

The Spyder side has no measured curve at all. What I have is one owner who tuned a 62″, 45 lb Spyder at a 31″ draw and hit the wall at full draw, but called the stack not overly aggressive, and three XL owners at 29.5–31″, all positive. If you're not sure of your draw length, start with the draw length calculator or the draw length by height data, then measure it at a shop.

🛠️ Tool

Draw-Length Fit Explorer

Pick a bow, your draw length and the weight printed on the limbs. You'll get the listing's guidance, the owner reports nearest your draw, and an estimate of what the limbs will actually pull, with the basis for each number.

Weigh at full draw at each inch with a bow scale, as described in the test method further down. Your readings replace my estimate and get flagged where an inch costs noticeably more than the inches before it.

Sage estimates up to 28″ scale Pete Ward's measured 40 lb curve to your marked weight. From 28 to 30″ they add one owner's noted increments (6%, then 9%). The Spyder, XL and Galaxy Sage have no published curve, so they get a straight-line estimate at the Sage's measured 5.4% per inch and are labeled that way. Past 31″ nothing is shown as an estimate. Individual limbs vary: Ward's 40 lb limbs read 40.92 lb at 28″.

🗣️ What 47 Owners Said, in Short

Across 63 reports from 47 different ArcheryTalk members (2012–2025), the draw-length story is consistent. Sage owners at 29″ or less mostly report no problem; the ones at 30″ or more report a wall. Nobody who reported an XL at a long draw complained about stack. The complaints that do show up are about strings, soft bolts, and a handful of cracked or delaminated Southwest risers, which I cover below.

Do Sage and Spyder Limbs Really Interchange?

On a Spyder riser, yes, and that's documented by the maker. Southwest's riser page says it fits Samick Sage and Journey limbs and also works with Spyder, Spyder XL, Tiger and TigerShark limbs. The other direction is documented too: Southwest's 62-inch limb listing is sold as replacement limbs for Ghost, Samick Sage, Spyder, Spyder XL and TigerShark Standard risers, and says they will not fit the TigerShark Pro.

The reason it works is geometry, not luck. A forum member building a fit database measured the limb butt on Sage, Journey, Polaris and Spyder limbs: 40 mm wide, bolt hole 15 mm from the butt edge, square base, no locating pin, and what looked like a 5/16″ bolt. One measurement set, but it matches what the maker sells.

Close-up side view of a laminated wood recurve riser limb pocket with light oak, dark gray and thin red layers and a black limb butt seated in the pocket
A Spyder limb pocket from the side. The limb butt sits flat on the riser’s pad and is held by one bolt, the single-bolt layout the diagram below describes.
Single-bolt limb pocket shared by the Sage and the Spyder Schematic of a limb butt seated in a riser pocket. The limb butt is 40 millimeters wide with a square end; the bolt hole sits 15 millimeters from the butt edge; a single bolt clamps the limb against a metal limb pad. There is no locating pin. Owner measurement, one set. riser (pocket end) metal limb pad 15 mm 40 mm limb (square butt, no pin) single bolt, ~5/16″ One bolt, one pad, no pin
Schematic, not to scale. Dimensions are one owner's caliper measurements; the bolt size is his estimate. The Galaxy Sage Elite uses a pin-and-bolt system instead, which is why its limbs don't swap in.
⚠️ The Sage Elite Is Not the Same Pocket

Lancaster describes the Galaxy Sage Elite II as using a two-pin alignment system, and an owner of a Sage Elite says flatly that Sage and Sage Elite limbs aren't interchangeable. Another member suggests drilling a pin hole in Sage limbs to make them fit. Don't. Drilling a limb butt or reworking a pocket changes how a loaded limb seats, and nobody publishes what that does to its strength.

🛠️ Tool

Limb & Riser Fit Matrix

Choose a riser and a set of limbs, or press any cell in the table. Each answer says who confirmed it and how strongly, and what the assembled bow and string will be.

Limb and riser fit status for Sage, Spyder and related bows

I didn't test any combination physically. “Factory” means the riser's own limbs.

What happens to the string when you change limb length?

Swap 62″ limbs for 64″ ones and the bow gets 2″ longer, so the string has to follow. Southwest's limb listing even warns that a Spyder XL owner buying 62″ limbs will need a 62″ string. For the XL itself, the owner numbers don't quite agree. In a 2022–2025 string-length thread, one member relays Southwest recommending 61″ in BCY 452X, a string builder who's owned two XLs ran 60″ at an 8¾″ brace, and a 2025 buyer found the 60″ string his new XL shipped with was too short to bring the brace below 8¾″. My read: brace height decides, and 60.5–61″ is where low-stretch strings land.

Same Spyder riser, two limb lengths Animated schematic. One Spyder riser is shown with standard limbs making a 62 inch bow, then with Spyder XL limbs making a 64 inch bow. The riser does not change; only the limbs and the string length do. Same riser, longer limbs 62″ Spyder · standard limbs string sized for a 62″ bow 64″ Spyder XL · XL limbs owners use about 60–61″; set by brace height riser unchanged Shown at 62″. XL limbs on the same riser make it 64″.
Schematic, not to scale. Southwest describes the XL as the same riser with longer limbs. If your system is set to reduce motion, the two states don't animate.

Hand Knob or Allen Bolt: How Do They Come Apart?

The Sage's limbs are held by a single tapered knob in a metal limb pocket, turned by hand. The Spyder uses what Southwest calls flush limb bolts, and owners in the 2017 “Sage 2” thread confirm they take an Allen key. Neither is unusual: hex-head takedown bolts are a stock part, and 3Rivers sells 1¾″ replacement limb bolts with standard 5/16 threads and a hex wrench. The Sage's knob is the friendlier one if you break the bow down at the range.

One owner's soft stock Spyder bolts stripped, and Southwest sent him tool-less thumb screws that fixed it. Another runs Spyder limbs on his Sage riser with Spyder bolts. So the hardware is swappable too, as long as the thread matches. If a bolt ever feels gritty or turns past snug, stop and replace it; don't keep shooting a pocket that won't clamp.

Two photos: hands turning the round limb knob of a Samick Sage by hand, and hands turning a Spyder flush limb bolt with an Allen key
Takedown in practice: the Sage’s knob turns by hand (top); the Spyder’s flush bolt takes an Allen key (bottom).

Is the Spyder Lighter Than the Sage?

Not that anyone can show. Neither maker nor any retailer I checked publishes a bow or riser mass. The only side-by-side number I found comes from an owner who has had several of each and weighed both at 2.4 lb. That's one person and one scale, but it's more than the 3.4 vs. 2.3 lb gap my old version claimed, which I couldn't trace to any measurement.

If you weigh your own, say what's on the bow. Riser alone, riser plus limbs, and a strung bow with a rest and quiver are three different numbers, and comparing one to another is how weight myths start. My takedown vs. one-piece comparison has a table of published riser masses if you want context for what 2.4 lb means.

How Do the Grips Compare?

Southwest says it rounded the hard edges of the riser and limb pockets on the Spyder, and owners describe the result the same way: rounder contours, a slightly slimmer handle, more radius on the edges. No one has published grip measurements for either bow, and I won't pull millimeters out of product photos. The photo below puts the two side by side so you can see the shape; hold both if you can, because hand size matters more than this difference.

Samick Sage and Spyder risers lying side by side, labeled, showing the grip area, the sight bushing and the different limb bolt heads
Sage (top) and Spyder (bottom) grips side by side. Similar throat and shelf; the Spyder’s laminations add a red stripe. A photo shows shape, not millimeters.

Which Is Quieter, Faster or More Accurate?

Nobody has tested these bows side by side under the same conditions, so there's no honest winner to name. What exists are single readings on different setups. Ward's 40 lb Sage shot 352 gr at 179 fps at 28″. A Sage owner reports about 178–185 fps with a 450 gr arrow at 50 lb and a 29″ draw. An owner running Spyder XL limbs on a different, 68″ riser measured 42.85 lb on limbs marked 40 and about 175 fps. Different arrows, draws, strings and risers. Comparing those speeds tells you nothing about the bows.

Noise is the same story. One Southwest owner found his bow a bit loud until he added wool silencers; another owner calls his XL-limbed setup quiet. Perceived noise depends on arrow weight, brace height and string material far more than on which logo is on the riser, and a phone recording isn't a calibrated measurement. If you want to see how arrow weight trades speed for energy at your draw weight, run it through the arrow speed and performance calculator.

Accuracy belongs to the archer and the tune. Get the arrow spine right first with the recurve arrow spine calculator, then walk through bare-shaft tuning. One Southwest owner's notes are a good example of what that looks like: bare shafts flew nock high and his fletched arrows paper-tuned clean with the nock set at 5/8″.

What Do Owners Complain About?

Here's the whole log. Filter it by bow or topic. One warning before you read it: forum posts are what people chose to write, so a topic with more complaints isn't proof that a bow fails more. There's no ownership count behind these numbers, and the Sage has been on the market longer than the Spyder.

🛠️ Tool

Owner Report Explorer

Evidence

Collected by hand from 18 public ArcheryTalk threads (2012–2025). Members are shown as codes, and the same code means the same person across threads, so counts are of people, not posts. Notes are my paraphrase. Second-hand reports are marked and excluded by “First-hand only.”

Two things in the log are worth a closer look. Strings: three owners had stock-string trouble (fast wear, loose serving, and one XL string too short), which matches the general advice to upgrade early; both bows' reinforced tips accept Fast Flight and Flemish strings according to the listings above. Southwest risers: three first-hand reports describe a cracked, delaminated or broken Southwest riser, one of them a Spyder that broke at full draw, and one owner's riser and limbs were replaced under warranty. Three posts out of an unknown number of bows sold isn't a failure rate, and the Sage has its own durability fans (one owner's survived a dry fire). Still, inspect any wood riser for lamination cracks before each session, especially if hand shock suddenly increases; that's how one owner found his. And check string tracking on any new bow of this type: a member who looks after about 20 of them for his club says several have slightly twisted limbs that need shimming. That's about the whole class of bow, not one model, so it isn't counted in the log.

What's in the Box and What Will You Still Need?

The packages differ more than the bows do. Southwest's 62″ Spyder ships with the riser, limbs, a 14-strand Dacron string, an adhesive arrow rest and a manual; the XL listing adds a stringer. Lancaster's Galaxy Sage includes a stick-on rest, a nock set and a B-50 string. The Samick-branded Sage listing I used includes a string and nock point and recommends ordering a stringer.

An opened shipping box holding a laminated wood takedown riser with a red stripe, two black recurve limbs, foam blocks, printed instructions and a small bag of hardware
A Spyder-style kit as it comes out of the box: riser, two limbs, foam blocks, printed instructions and a small hardware bag that appears to hold an Allen key. Southwest’s listing doesn’t mention the key, so don’t count on one.

🛠️ Tool

Setup & Upgrade Planner

Choose the bow and your plans. You'll get what the listing includes, what you still need to shoot it safely, and the upgrade paths the fit evidence supports.

Can You Hunt With Either One?

Yes, within your state's rules and your own skill. Both come in hunting weights: the Sage is listed to 60 lb, the 62″ Spyder to 60 lb and the XL to 55 lb. Limbs are conventionally marked at 28″ (Southwest doesn't say). Draw past 28″ and you'll pull more than the label, which the explorer above estimates. Check your state's floor in the minimum draw weight by state table and pick limbs you can hold steady through a full practice session, not just a few shots. If you'll bowfish, both risers have the stabilizer bushing that a reel mounts to.

How Would You Test These Two Properly?

I haven't run this test. Here's the protocol I'd use, and the one I'd want any future numbers on this page to meet.

  1. Identify the bows. Record model, maker (Samick, Galaxy or Southwest), approximate production year, limb markings and riser serials if any. Weigh riser, limbs and strung bow separately.
  2. Match the setup. Same limb marking, same string material and strand count, brace height set to the same value (8¼″) on both, same rest and nock height.
  3. Draw-force curve. Mount the bow in a draw board with a calibrated digital scale. Read force every inch from brace to 32″ AMO draw (pivot + 1¾″), three passes each, and calibrate the scale against a known weight before and after.
  4. Speed. One arrow build at about 9 gpp, chronograph 6–8 ft from the bow, a mechanical release aid or shooting machine if possible, 10 shots per bow at 28″, raw readings kept.
  5. Accuracy. At least two shooters, both bows tuned to the same arrow, 6 ends of 6 at 18 m, randomized bow order. Measure group radius from each end's center, not hits on a face.
  6. Noise. A sound level meter at a fixed distance and angle, same room, same arrows. No smartphone comparisons.
  7. Report everything. Ambient temperature, any dropped shots and why, and the measurement uncertainty of each instrument.

Until that exists, no row on this page reports a head-to-head measured result, because none exists.

Which Claims About These Bows Hold Up?

Every factual claim I considered, including the ones from my own earlier version, graded by the evidence behind it. Open any row to see the sources and what would settle it.

🛠️ Tool

Claim Checker

High maker listing or a repeatable measurementModerate retailer specs or several independent ownersLimited one report or indirectUnresolved conflicting or missing

Labels are my editorial grades, not probabilities. Last checked October 13, 2026.

🎯 Verdict

Measure your draw length before you think about brand. Under 28″, buy whichever of the Sage or the 62″ Spyder you can get and like the feel of; the Sage if you'll break it down a lot, the Spyder if sharp edges bother you. At 29″ and up, buy the Spyder XL, or put 64″ limbs on the riser you already own and buy a matching string. Whatever you pick, plan on a better string and a light first set of limbs. They're interchangeable anyway.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Samick Sage and Spyder limbs interchangeable?

Yes, on the Spyder riser: Southwest's riser listing says it fits Samick Sage and Journey limbs, and its 62-inch limb listing names the Samick Sage riser. Owners report the swap working both ways. The exception is the Galaxy Sage Elite, whose limbs use a different pin-and-bolt alignment.

What's the difference between the Spyder and the Spyder XL?

Same riser, longer limbs. Southwest describes the XL as a stretched Spyder: 64 inches instead of 62, listed in 25 to 55 lb, for draws over 28 to 29 inches. The XL listing also includes a stringer; the 62-inch listing doesn't.

Which bow suits a long draw length?

The Spyder XL. Retailers list the Sage for draws up to 28 inches, owners put its wall around 29 inches, and the three XL owners I found reporting 29.5 to 31 inch draws described little or no stacking.

How much heavier will my limbs pull past 28 inches?

The measured 40 lb Sage gained about 2.2 lb per inch from 26 to 28 inches, roughly 5.4% of its marked weight per inch. One owner's notes show about 6% from 28 to 29 inches and about 9% from 29 to 30. Weigh your own bow at full draw if it matters.

Is the Spyder lighter than the Sage?

Nobody publishes either bow's mass. The only side-by-side weighing I found is one owner who measured both at 2.4 lb. An older claim of 3.4 lb versus 2.3 lb couldn't be traced to any measurement.

Do I need tools to take down a Spyder?

Usually an Allen key. Southwest describes flush limb bolts and owners confirm the key. The Sage uses a hand-turned tapered knob. One owner whose soft stock Spyder bolts stripped got tool-less thumb screws from Southwest.

What string length does a Spyder XL take?

Owners report 60 to 61 inches, and one relays Southwest recommending 61 inches in BCY 452X. A 2025 buyer found the 60-inch string shipped with his XL too short to bring the brace height under 8.75 inches, so set it by brace height.

Is the Galaxy Sage the same bow as the Samick Sage?

Close, but not documented as identical. Lancaster sells the Galaxy Sage with the same riser woods, the same tapered-knob pocket description and 20 to 55 lb limbs, and owners say Samick's own Sage was discontinued. Nobody publishes whether the limbs swap between the two, so ask the seller before mixing them.

Can you hunt with a Sage or a Spyder?

Yes, within your state's rules. The Sage is listed to 60 lb, the 62-inch Spyder to 60 lb and the XL to 55 lb. Check your state's minimum draw weight, account for the extra pull past 28 inches, and choose limbs you can hold steady for a full practice session.

How I Graded the Evidence

Specs come from the makers' or retailers' current listings, checked on October 13, 2026; where Southwest and a retailer disagree, I say so. Draw-force numbers come from one published bench test and are labeled as such. The owner log includes only posts that describe a Sage, Spyder or Spyder XL from use, with a member code so that one person posting twice counts once. I didn't count a repost or a quote as a separate report, and I paraphrased rather than quoting at length. No bow on this page was tested by me, and anything modeled says so where it appears. Spot an error or have a scale reading for a Spyder past 28″? Send it to me and I'll add it to the log.

Burak, founder of ArcheryEra
About the Author

Hey, what's up? Burak here. Archery addict, board game geek, Daft Punk fan.