Minimum Draw Weight by State: Legal Bow & Broadhead Rules
Fewer states set a hard poundage number than most hunters assume — and the ones that do disagree with each other by up to 10 lb on the same species. Pick your state and game class below and get the actual current standard, cited to the code that sets it.
Quick Summary
There's no single national minimum draw weight for bowhunting. A little under half of states codify a number — commonly 30–40 lb for deer-class game, measured at peak draw, not the compound's holding weight after let-off — while the rest (Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, Montana, Texas and Virginia among them) set none at all and lean on broadhead and general-lethality standards instead. Every state that regulates archery equipment at all sets a minimum broadhead cutting width, almost always 7/8 inch. Crossbow-during-archery-season status is the fastest-moving piece of this and needs a same-season check regardless of what's printed below.
Educational information only — not legal or wildlife-code advice. This page and the finder tool below summarize published state hunting regulations as research turned them up on the date shown in the byline. Regulations change annually, sometimes mid-season by emergency order, and no attorney-client or advisory relationship is created by anything here. Before you nock an arrow, confirm the current-year number against your own state's Department of Natural Resources, Game & Fish, or Fish & Wildlife agency — linked for every state in the tool and table below.
💡 Quick Takeaway
Core insight: Whether a state sets a numeric minimum at all is close to a coin flip, and among those that do, 30–40 lb covers almost every deer-class figure on record.
Ideal for: Bowhunters drawing a lighter or youth/first-season setup who need to know if their poundage clears a legal floor before opening day, and out-of-state hunters comparing an unfamiliar state's rules to their home state's.
State Draw Weight & Legal Spec Finder
Pick a state and a game class — the result below shows that state's minimum draw weight, broadhead rule and crossbow-season status, with a direct link to the agency that publishes it.
Not legal advice. A lookup tool built on published state codes, not a ruling on your situation. Confirm any figure below against the linked official source before you hunt.
Legal Spec Result
● liveHow State DNRs Measure Draw Weight — And Why That Number Isn't Always What You Think
Every state that specifies a figure means peak draw weight: the highest force the string exerts before a compound's cams roll into let-off. A bow with a 70 lb top-end and 80% let-off is still checked against its 70 lb peak, not the roughly 14 lb you're holding at full draw. This matters most for lighter compound setups near a state's floor — a bow that "feels" comfortably under a threshold at anchor can still be built on a peak weight that clears it, and vice versa for an over-tuned bow backed off too far.
Traditional bows (recurve, longbow) have no let-off to complicate the reading, so peak and holding weight are the same number — which is part of why a hard poundage floor is easier to write into a traditional-bow-era statute than to update cleanly for modern compound tolerances.
Why Minimum Draw Weights Exist: The Biological and Ethical Rationale
A minimum draw weight statute is a blunt proxy for a real concern: whether an arrow carries enough force to reach a deer's or elk's vital organs and cause rapid, humane death rather than a non-lethal wound. Wildlife agencies that publish a number are drawing a line under the setups most likely to under-penetrate on a broadside shot at typical bowhunting range.
It's a genuinely blunt instrument, though — draw weight alone says nothing about arrow weight, broadhead sharpness or shot placement, all of which affect penetration as much or more (see the physics breakdown on the Kinetic Energy for Deer page). That's exactly why a growing number of states have moved away from a numeric poundage floor and toward broadhead-width and "capable of inflicting a mortal wound" language instead — it regulates the part of the setup that most directly determines a lethal hit.
⚠️ When the Legal Minimum Isn't Enough
Avoid if: your setup only just clears your state's legal floor and you haven't separately checked its kinetic energy and momentum against the game you're hunting. A 30 lb bow is legal in several states for deer, but 30 lb with a light arrow can land well under the widely-cited 25–41 ft·lb deer-class energy guideline once you're shooting a fast, light arrow at range. Legal and lethal are two different checks — run both.
Mechanical Broadhead State Restrictions and Blade-Opening Rules
Where a state regulates broadheads at all, 7/8 inch measured at the widest cutting diameter is the number that shows up most often — Pennsylvania's code, Kentucky's, California's, Illinois', Minnesota's and Alabama's codes all set that same floor. Ohio is a notable exception at a lower 3/4 inch. Expandable and mechanical heads are almost always measured in their open position against the same threshold, not their closed, in-flight diameter — a mechanical that opens to 1.5 inch clears a 7/8 inch floor by a wide margin, but a head that only opens to 3/4 inch would fail Pennsylvania's rule even though it passes Ohio's.
A separate, common requirement bundled into the same statutes: a minimum number of cutting edges (almost always two) and, in several states, an explicit ban on barbed heads that resist withdrawal — Minnesota's code states this directly.
1-Minute Decision & Comparison Matrix: Minimum Draw Weight by State
Built for fast scanning and direct citation — every figure below traces to the primary code or agency page linked in the last column. States without a verified numeric minimum are marked as such rather than guessed; that is itself the accurate legal answer for that state, not a gap in the research.
| State | Min. Draw Weight (Whitetail) | Min. Draw Weight (Elk / Big Game) | Broadhead Width / Type Limits | Crossbow (Archery Season) | Official Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 30 lb peak | 30 lb peak | ≥ 7/8″, 2 cutting edges | Legal, same season as vertical bow (crossbow itself: 85 lb min.) | Ala. Admin. Code 220-2-.03 → |
| Alaska | 40 lb (Sitka black-tailed deer; also wolf, wolverine, black bear, Dall sheep, caribou) | 50 lb (moose, elk, mountain goat, brown/grizzly bear, muskox, bison) | Arrow ≥20″, head+arrow ≥300 gr, unbarbed; mechanical heads barred for moose/elk/brown bear | Not legal in bow-only seasons/areas except individual disability exemption; 100 lb min. where allowed | Alaska 5 AAC 92.085 (ADF&G) → |
| Arizona | 30 lb standard pull | 30 lb (bear, sheep, javelina, cougar, pronghorn, elk); 40 lb (hooved nongame incl. bison) | ≥ 7/8″ wide, metal or ceramic-coated cutting edges | Permit-only (disability) during archery-only seasons; unrestricted in general/muzzleloader seasons — 125 lb min., 16″ min. bolt | Ariz. Admin. Code § R12-4-304 → |
| Arkansas | 35 lb pull | 35 lb (same rule covers bear, elk) | ≥ 7/8″ wide, incl. mechanical; no poison/ammunition tips | Legal, same archery season; 125 lb min. + mechanical safety | AGFC — Deer-Specific Hunting Regulations → |
| California | 30 lb peak | 30 lb peak | ≥ 7/8″ open cutting diameter (cannot pass through a 7/8″ ring) | Not legal during archery season except Disabled Archer Permit; 125 lb min. outside archery season | Cal. Code Regs. tit. 14, § 354 → |
| Colorado | 35 lb | 35 lb (80% max let-off) | Verify with agency (no width spec in the manner-of-take rule itself) | Not legal during archery season for general hunters; 125 lb min. outside archery season or under disability permit | 2 CCR 406-0, CPW Rule #203 → |
| Connecticut | 40 lb | Not applicable (same 40 lb rule statewide, incl. bear) | ≥ 2 blades, ≥ 7/8″ wide | Legal, same season as vertical bow; 125 lb min., fixed rifle-type stock required | 2026 CT Hunting & Trapping Guide (CT DEEP) → |
| Delaware | 35 lb | Not applicable (no elk/moose/huntable-bear season) | ≥ 7/8″ wide | Legal for all hunters, same archery season; 125 lb min., made after 1980, mechanical safety | Delaware Hunting & Trapping Laws and Regulations (DNREC) → |
| Florida | No state minimum (removed by rule change) | Same rule; no minimum for black bear either | ≥ 7/8″ wide (deer, bear, turkey) | Separate Crossbow Season overlaps Archery Season on different zone dates; many WMAs require a Persons-with-Disabilities Crossbow Permit during archery-only dates — check current zone dates | Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 68A-12.002 → |
| Georgia | Not restricted | Not restricted | Broadhead required, width not specified | Legal | Georgia DNR Bowhunting Equipment Reg Table → |
| Hawaii | Not applicable (axis deer, not whitetail): 30 lb compound / 35 lb recurve / 40 lb longbow | Same tiered rule applies to all game mammals (axis deer, feral goat/sheep/pig) | ≥ 3/4″ cutting diameter; no poison/explosive tips | Not legal for general hunters — Disabled Hunter Crossbow Permit only | Haw. Admin. Rules tit. 13, §13-123-22 → |
| Idaho | 40 lb peak (at or before 28″ draw) | 40 lb peak | ≥ 7/8″ wide, cutting edge ≥ 0.015″ thick, no expanding/barbed heads; arrow+head ≥ 300 gr | Not legal during Archery-Only or Traditional-Archery-Only seasons (no disability exception in rule); legal in general/any-weapon seasons — 150 lb min. | IDAPA 13.01.08 (Idaho Fish & Game) → |
| Illinois | 30 lb peak pull in 28″ draw | 30 lb peak pull in 28″ draw | ≥ 7/8″ open diameter; metal or knapped-stone fixed blades, metal expandables (no stated blade-count minimum) | Legal, 125 lb min. | Ill. Admin. Code tit. 17, § 670.30 (IL DNR) → |
| Indiana | 35 lb pull | Not applicable (no elk/moose/huntable-bear season) | Metal or metal-edged, or napped flint/chert/obsidian; no width spec | Legal entire archery season, all hunters; crossbow defined as ≥ 125 lb + mechanical safety | Indiana DNR Deer Hunting Q&A / 312 IAC 9 → |
| Iowa | No state minimum | Not applicable (no elk/moose/huntable-bear season) | Broadhead required, arrow ≥ 18″ long; no width spec | Restricted — only hunters with a qualifying upper-body disability, or 65+ with an antlerless-only license; not general archery-season equipment | Iowa Admin. Code r. 571—106.11 → |
| Kansas | No state minimum | 50 lb (limited-permit elk hunt) | Cannot pass through a 3/4″ ring (≈ ≥ 3/4″ cutting width) | Legal for all archery-permit holders, no age/disability limit; 125 lb min. | Kan. Admin. Regs. § 115-4-4 → |
| Kentucky | No state minimum | No state minimum | ≥ 7/8″ wide upon expansion | Legal statewide; general season mid-Sept.–mid-Jan., extended early opener for youth & 65+ | 301 KAR 2:172 → |
| Louisiana | 30 lb | Not applicable (no elk/moose season; bear not huntable) | Well-sharpened broadhead, no numeric width specified | Legal for all licensed hunters, same 30 lb minimum as vertical bows (an older disabled-only statute is superseded by current code/digest) | LDWF Hunting & WMA Regulations → |
| Maine | 35 lb | 35 lb (bear); 45 lb (moose) | ≥ 7/8″ wide, incl. mechanical measured open | Legal in regular & expanded archery seasons (permit where required); 100 lb crossbow min.; not usable in muzzleloader season | Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 12, § 11214 → |
| Maryland | 30 lb | 30 lb (black bear, same rule); not applicable to elk/moose | Sharpened metal broadhead, ≥ 7/8″ wide | Legal in standard archery deer/bear seasons; 75 lb crossbow min.; barred during Feb. primitive-weapon season | COMAR 08.03.04.05 → |
| Massachusetts | 40 lb (28″ draw) | 40 lb (bear, same rule); not applicable (no elk/moose) | Well-sharpened steel broadhead, ≥ 7/8″ wide | Not legal for general hunters — only physician-certified permanently disabled hunters with a lifetime permit | 321 CMR 3.01(3) → |
| Michigan | No numeric minimum found (regulated by broadhead spec, not draw weight) | Same (no numeric minimum for bear/elk either) | ≥ 7/8″ wide, arrow/bolt ≥ 14″ overall | Legal as general archery-season equipment (Wildlife Conservation Order Ch. II §2.1); no blanket disabled-only restriction | Michigan Wildlife Conservation Order, Ch. II §2.1 → |
| Minnesota | 30 lb pull at or before full draw | 30 lb pull at or before full draw | ≥ 7/8″, 2 metal edges, barbless (expandable ≤ 2″ open) | Legal for all archery deer hunters (2023 law removed prior permit limit); ≥ 42 ft-lb energy at 10 ft + shoulder-fired + safety | Minnesota DNR — Archery Deer Hunting → |
| Mississippi | No minimum or maximum draw weight (explicit) | Not applicable (no elk/moose season; bear not huntable) | Fixed or mechanical broadheads allowed, no numeric width spec | Legal for all hunters during archery deer season; no separate draw-weight requirement | MS Dept. of Wildlife, Fisheries & Parks — General Hunting Rules → |
| Missouri | No state minimum (40+ lb recommended, not required) | No state minimum (40+ lb recommended, not required) | No codified width/blade requirement — consult an archery shop (MDC guidance) | Fully legal for all hunters, no permit or age restriction, treated as standard archery equipment | MDC — Basic Archery Equipment → |
| Montana | No minimum draw weight specified | No minimum draw weight specified | ≥ 7/8″ wide (open, for expandables), ≥ 2 cutting edges; arrow+head ≥ 300 gr, arrow ≥ 20″, bow ≥ 28″ | Not legal archery equipment during Archery-Only Season (a modify-equipment permit doesn't authorize it); usable in general/other seasons | Montana FWP 2026 Deer, Elk & Antelope Regulations → |
| Nebraska | No numeric minimum for vertical bows | No numeric minimum for elk either; crossbow 125 lb applies to antelope/deer/elk/lion/sheep | Blade radius ≥ 7/16″ from shaft center (≈ ≥ 7/8″ cutting diameter) | Legal during archery season for all hunters; 125 lb min., non-electronic, shoulder-fired | Neb. Admin. Code tit. 163, ch. 4 (Game & Parks Comm.) → |
| Nevada | 40 lb peak | 40 lb peak | ≥ 7/8″ wide at widest point (open for expandables); arrow ≥ 24″, ≥ 300 gr | Legal for big game; 125 lb min., ≥ 14″ power stroke, ≥ 18″ stock, safety; not usable in archery-only hunts without a disability permit | Nev. Admin. Code § 503.144 (bow) / § 503.143 (crossbow) → |
| New Hampshire | 40 lb peak (≤ 28″ draw; same for bear) | 50 lb (moose) | Fixed: 7/8″–1½″ wide; mechanical: ≥ 7/8″ open; arrows must carry owner name/address | Restricted — permanent-disability permit, hunters 68+, youth weekend, or WMU L/M archery licensees only during general archery season; crossbow itself needs 125 lb min., 25″ min. length | N.H. Code Admin. R. Fis 301.041 / Fis 301.03 → |
| New Jersey | 35 lb (compound peak; other bows at archer's draw length) | Same standard applies to black bear archery season; no elk/moose | ≥ 3/4″ wide, well-sharpened metal edges | Legal generally during archery season (not disabled-only); 75 lb min., ≥ 25″ stock, working safety | N.J.A.C. 7:25-5.24 → |
| New Mexico | No numeric minimum found | No numeric minimum found (incl. elk) | Cutting-edge broadhead required (no numeric width); judo/blunt points only for small game/birds | Standard "bow only" license does not cover crossbow use — a distinct crossbow hunt code or mobility-impairment permit is required | 19.31.10 NMAC (NM Game & Fish) → |
| New York | Must exceed 35 lb draw weight | Must exceed 35 lb draw weight | ≥ 7/8″ wide OR ≥ 2 sharp cutting edges; barbed broadheads prohibited | Legal, same seasons/places/manner as vertical bow for deer & bear; 100 lb crossbow min. | NYSDEC — Deer and Bear Hunting Regulations → |
| North Carolina | 40 lb (longbow/recurve), 35 lb (compound) | Same 40/35 lb standard for bear; no huntable elk/moose | Fixed ≥ 7/8″; mechanical ≥ 7/8″ open | Legal for all species with an open season, incl. general archery deer season, no permit needed; 100 lb crossbow min. | 15A NCAC 10B .0116 (NC Wildlife Resources Comm.) → |
| North Dakota | 35 lb (≤ 28″ draw) | 50 lb (moose, elk, bighorn sheep) — fixed-blade broadheads only for these three | Deer: ≥ 2 edges, ≥ 3/4″ diameter, arrow ≥ 24″; moose/elk/sheep: same but fixed blades only | Not legal for the general public in archery season — Director permit only (blind, paraplegic, or arm-loss hunters); permitted crossbow ≥ 75 lb, ≥ 14″ bolt, safety | ND Game & Fish Dept. — 2026 Deer Proclamation → |
| Ohio | 40 lb (longbow/compound) | 40 lb (longbow/compound) | ≥ 2 cutting edges, ≥ 3/4″ wide | Legal; 75 lb min., shoulder-mount stock + safety, cocking devices permitted | Ohio Admin. Code 1501:31-15-11 → |
| Oklahoma | 30 lb (compound), 40 lb (recurve/longbow/self-bow) | Same 30/40 lb standard statewide, incl. bear & limited elk hunts | ≥ 7/8″ wide, incl. mechanical measured open | Legal during archery season, all hunters; 100 lb min., safety device, bolts ≥ 14″ | Oklahoma Dept. of Wildlife Conservation — Big Game Regulations → |
| Oregon | 40 lb | 40 lb (flat minimum — applies uniformly to deer, elk, pronghorn, black bear, cougar, bighorn sheep, mountain goat) | ≥ 7/8″ wide, unbarbed (blades that fold on withdrawal are not "barbed") | Not legal during archery season/bowhunting areas — general firearm seasons only | ODFW — Legal Hunting Methods & Weapon Restrictions → |
| Pennsylvania | 35 lb peak | 35 lb peak | ≥ 7/8″, ≤ 3.25″ length | Legal, 125 lb crossbow peak-draw minimum | 58 Pa. Code § 141.43 → |
| Rhode Island | 40 lb (fixed-blade), 50 lb (mechanical/expandable) | Not applicable (no elk/moose/bear season) | ≥ 2 metal edges, ≥ 7/8″ wide (mechanical measured open) | Legal during archery deer season for any archery-license holder, same as vertical bow; 125 lb crossbow min. | 250-RICR-60-00-9 § 9.7.3 (RI DEM) → |
| South Carolina | No state minimum | Not applicable (bear/deer share the same equipment rule; no elk/moose) | No restrictions on weight, width, or style | Legal statewide on private & WMA lands, all seasons incl. archery; no minimum draw weight found | SCDNR Rules & Regulations Guide; S.C. Code § 50-11-565 → |
| South Dakota | No state minimum | No state minimum (same rule for elk) | Mechanical broadheads ≤ 2″ cutting diameter, prohibited for elk; compound bows ≥ 28″ axle-to-axle, ≤ 80% let-off | Not legal for general archery hunters — Special Crossbow Permit (disability) only; permitted crossbow ≥ 125 lb | S.D. Admin. R. 41:06:05:01 → |
| Tennessee | No state minimum | No state minimum (incl. limited elk quota hunt) | Sharpened broadhead required, no width/blade-count spec | Legal alongside longbows/recurves/compounds during archery deer season; no separate draw-weight minimum stated | Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency — General Hunting Regulations → |
| Texas | No minimum draw requirement | No minimum draw requirement | Broadhead required, width not specified | Legal generally; Collin/Dallas/Grayson/Rockwall counties require an Archery Endorsement or disability statement for crossbow during archery-only season | TPWD — Means and Methods → |
| Utah | 30 lb | 30 lb | ≥ 2 sharp cutting edges, cannot pass through a 7/8″ ring (expandables measured expanded) | Legal, 125 lb min. required for big game | Utah DWR — 2026 Big Game Field Regulations Guidebook → |
| Vermont | No state minimum for vertical bow | Not applicable (no elk/moose archery season; bear has no separate poundage rule) | No width rule for vertical-bow arrows; crossbow bolts require ≥ 7/8″, ≥ 2 edges | Legal entire archery deer season (Oct. 1–Dec. 15); 125 lb crossbow min., ≥ 23″ stock, mechanical safety | Vt. Fish & Wildlife Board Rule, App. Tit. 10 §§ 3.7, 9.4 → |
| Virginia | No numeric minimum found | No numeric minimum found | ≥ 7/8″ open (fixed or expandable) | Legal, full archery tackle (longbows, recurves, compounds, crossbows, slingbows, airbows — slingbows barred for bear/elk) | VA DWR — Legal Use of Archery Tackle → |
| Washington | 40 lb | 40 lb | ≥ 7/8″ wide, unbarbed; crossbow bolts ≥ 350 gr | Not legal during general archery season — modern firearm/muzzleloader seasons only; 125 lb min. where used | WAC 220-414-070 (bow) / 220-414-100 (crossbow) → |
| West Virginia | No numeric minimum found | No separate big-game (bear) minimum; same rule during concurrent archery bear season | ≥ 2 sharp cutting edges, ≥ 3/4″ wide | Legal statewide during general archery season (Sept. 26–Dec. 31) except Logan/McDowell/Mingo/Wyoming counties (disability permit required there); 125 lb min., bolts ≥ 16″ | WVDNR Hunting & Trapping Regulations Summary (2026–27) → |
| Wisconsin | 30 lb | 30 lb | Sharpened broadhead required, no width spec | Legal, 100 lb min. | Wis. Admin. Code NR 10.09(3) → |
| Wyoming | 40 lb (deer, antelope, black bear, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, mountain lion, gray wolf) | 50 lb (elk, moose, grizzly bear) | Cannot pass through a 7/8″ ring when fully expanded | Legal, 90 lb min., bolt ≥ 16″ | Wyo. Game & Fish Dept. — Chapter 32 Regulation → |
🗣️ Community Consensus & Synthesis Grid
Forum/Discord sentiment: Aggregated from ongoing bowhunting-regulation threads on ArcheryTalk, r/Bowhunting and state-specific hunting forums, the recurring theme is that hunters routinely overestimate how many states enforce a numeric draw-weight floor — several threads each season involve someone confidently citing a "40 lb minimum" for a state that has none on the books.
Top praised approach: Hunters who post their chronographed speed and finished arrow weight alongside their draw weight, rather than draw weight alone, get far more useful feedback than "is X lb legal for deer" — because legality and lethality are answered by different numbers.
Common friction point: Crossbow-during-archery-season status is the single most frequently re-litigated topic, because it is also the rule most likely to have changed since the previous season's regulations booklet.
Need the physics side of this?
Legal minimums are one check. Whether your arrow actually carries enough energy to ethically take a deer or bigger game is a separate physics question — covered with real KE and momentum figures next.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which states actually have a minimum legal draw weight for bowhunting deer?
Fewer than most hunters assume. States including Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, Montana, Texas and Virginia set no numeric minimum at all for vertical bows and instead rely on broadhead and general lethality standards, while states such as Ohio (40 lb), Pennsylvania (35 lb), Colorado (35 lb) and most of the Mountain West (commonly 40 lb) do codify a number. There is no single national rule — the finder tool above and the table below give the current status by state.
Do states measure draw weight at peak draw or at let-off?
Almost every state statute that specifies draw weight measures peak draw weight — the highest force on the string before let-off kicks in on a compound bow — not the holding weight at full draw. A bow rated 60 lb with 80% let-off still has to clear the state's peak-weight threshold, since that peak is what the statute is checking.
What broadhead width does most states require for deer hunting?
Seven-eighths of an inch (7/8") measured at the widest cutting diameter is the most common floor among the states that specify a number at all, seen in Pennsylvania, Kentucky, California, Illinois, Minnesota, Alabama and Virginia's codes. Ohio sets a lower 3/4" floor. Expandable/mechanical heads are almost universally measured in the open position against the same threshold.
Is a crossbow legal during archery season in every state?
No, but the list of states that still restrict it keeps shrinking. States like Ohio, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Alabama and (as of fall 2025) New York now allow crossbows on equal footing with vertical bows during archery season, while a handful of states still gate crossbow use behind a specific date window, an age threshold, or a disability exemption. This changes often enough that the current-year hunting digest is the only reliable source.
Common State-Specific Legal Questions
Pulled from the searches hunters actually run before a season opens — each answer traces to the state rule cited inline, not a forum guess.
Can I use a crossbow during Colorado archery season?
No. Colorado Parks & Wildlife Rule #203 states plainly that crossbows are not legal during the archery seasons for deer, elk, pronghorn, bear, sheep, goat and moose. General hunters may only run a crossbow during rifle or muzzleloader seasons, or during archery season under a Hunters-with-Disabilities accommodation permit — and where it is legal, the crossbow itself needs a 125 lb minimum peak draw weight and a 14″ minimum draw length.
Is a crossbow legal during Ohio's archery season?
Yes. Ohio Admin. Code 1501:31-15-11 puts crossbows on equal footing with vertical bows for the entire archery deer season, subject to a 75 lb minimum peak draw weight, a shoulder-mounted stock and a working mechanical safety.
What's the minimum draw weight to bowhunt deer in Texas?
There is not one. Texas Parks & Wildlife’s Means and Methods rule sets no numeric minimum draw weight for archery deer hunting anywhere in the state — only a broadhead requirement, plus a separate archery-endorsement rule that applies to crossbows in four counties (Collin, Dallas, Grayson, Rockwall).
Can I hunt deer with a 30-pound bow in Pennsylvania?
No. 58 Pa. Code § 141.43 sets a 35 lb peak-weight floor for archery deer hunting, so a 30 lb bow falls short of Pennsylvania’s minimum regardless of broadhead choice or shot placement.
Does Massachusetts allow crossbow hunting during archery season?
Only for hunters holding a lifetime disability permit. 321 CMR 3.01(3) restricts crossbow use to physician-certified permanently disabled hunters — general archery-season hunters in Massachusetts are limited to vertical bows.
Is a crossbow legal in Idaho during archery-only season?
No, not for the general hunting public. IDAPA 13.01.08.405 bars crossbows from Idaho’s Archery-Only and Traditional-Archery-Only seasons with no disability exception written into the rule; crossbows (150 lb minimum peak draw weight) are legal only during general or any-weapon seasons.
What's the minimum legal draw weight for elk in Wyoming?
50 lb. Wyoming Game & Fish’s Chapter 32 regulation sets a 50 lb minimum for elk, moose and grizzly bear, versus a lower 40 lb floor for deer, antelope, black bear, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, mountain lion and gray wolf.
Does South Dakota require a special permit for crossbow hunting?
Yes. S.D. Admin. R. 41:06:05:01 restricts crossbow use during archery season to hunters holding a Special Crossbow Permit tied to a qualifying disability — general archery hunters in South Dakota are limited to vertical bows.
What is the minimum draw weight for elk?
There's no single national figure — states that codify a number for elk generally set it at or above their deer minimum. Wyoming's Chapter 32 regulation requires 50 lb for elk, matching Alaska and North Dakota's 50 lb floor for elk, moose and sheep, while Oregon, Idaho and Washington apply a flat 40 lb rule across deer and elk alike, and Colorado's 35 lb rule (with an 80% max let-off cap) covers both species too. Several traditional elk states — Montana, Kentucky and Tennessee among them — set no numeric minimum for elk at all. The elk/big-game column in the 50-state table above breaks out the figure for every state that codifies one.
What is the minimum draw weight for deer in Minnesota?
30 lb. The Minnesota DNR's archery deer hunting rule requires a bow with “a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw,” one of the lower numeric floors among the states that set one at all, paired with a 7/8″, two-metal-edge, barbless broadhead requirement.
What is the minimum draw weight for deer in New York?
New York requires a bow's draw weight to exceed 35 lb, not just reach it. NYSDEC's deer and bear hunting regulations specify a “draw weight in excess of 35 pounds” for long, recurve and compound bows — one of the few states phrased as a strict “more than” threshold rather than an “at least” minimum.
🎯 Verdict
Our take: Treat every figure on this page as a starting point confirmed against your state's own current-year digest, not a final answer — roughly half of states publish no numeric minimum at all, and the ones that do disagree by up to 10 lb on the same species.
👉 If your state sets no minimum, or you're already well clear of one, the more useful question is whether your actual arrow carries enough energy to cleanly take the game you're after — that's the next page.
Educational information only — not legal or wildlife-code advice. Confirm every figure on this page against your state's official Department of Natural Resources, Game & Fish, or Fish & Wildlife agency before hunting — regulations change annually and sometimes mid-season. No attorney-client or advisory relationship is created by this page or its finder tool.
Your turn
Join the Conversation
If your state's number has changed since this was written, or you've found a code section this page doesn't cite yet, that's the most useful thing you could leave here — corrections get the page updated.
